I Love You and/or Food

If you read the New York Times recently, you must have seen the article titled, “I love you, but You Love Meat,” in the Dining & Wine section. It’s all about how food can affect a relationship, and it profiles several people who make their relationships work even though their partners’ have greatly different diets. Of course there are some who say they could not make it work. I have never dated anyone who had such a different diet than mine, but when I was a kid my father decided to become vegetarian for a few years. I don’t think my mom was too happy about it, since is meant she had to cook two different meals. I think if people are committed to the relationship, they can figure out a way to still enjoy food together. But I think the situation might get a little more complicated when there are children involved and couples start arguing over what to feed the kids.

Has food effected your relationships? How have you dealt with a partner’s conflicting food tastes?

3 Comments

  1. Lydia
    Posted March 5, 2008 at 11:54 am | Permalink

    Well, as you know my dear, I have changed my eating habits. I have more grains, lean meats/fish and much more fruits and veggies. But, of course, the hubbie still wants his food (pork with crunchy skin, fried appetizers from the old neighborhood). I cooked meals on weekends and incorporate foods that we both like and are healthy. Every other weekend I will make a good old fashion meal and share it with him. The only difference being that I take smaller portions for myself and try to bake as much as I can.

    By doing this, it makes us both happy and we enjoy what we are eating……
    In the meantime, slowly but surely, he has stopped eating lots of sweets, white bread and is trying some of the healthier things that I cook for myself. I’m still trying to get him to like brown rice, coucous or quinoa. That’s going to take a while. I make a mean turkey chili that he just loves. So patience and perseverance will do the trick. I believe that if you don’t make it a big issue, they come around. So you can love them and their foods, just except and be patient of them.

  2. Posted March 13, 2008 at 12:44 am | Permalink

    I’m a vegetarian, and I’ve rarely dated vegetarians. Not sure how come it hasn’t worked out that way… Most of my dates are patient with my habits and I am patient with theirs. I recently dated a woman who was a raw foodist, and I became one too, while we were dating. I’m not totally raw anymore, but I developed a real taste for truly nutritious foods, which are almost always raw (cooking, by and large, kills nutrients). It was fascinating to see how isolating being a raw foodist was, though. Even in LA. There is very little raw food available at ordinary restaurants, and very few raw food places. Nonetheless, it was worth it and I’m glad I learned about the benefits of eating raw.

  3. Rich
    Posted March 18, 2008 at 12:48 am | Permalink

    I have never dated anyone with special eating needs or interests. While in my current relationship I’ve learned so much more about healthy eating and about how to make healty eating a regular habit, I’ve never felt uncomfortable about eating that extra slice of pizza – or having pizza at all! I have friends and family that are vegetarians, and though I have often been approached to “convert” – it would never happen.


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

