Food Out Sick

I have been sick with the flu and not been able to write for the past week. As for food I’ve been eating a lot of soups and comfort foods, and drinking plenty of water. But I’ve been thinking about the foods that people eat during times of sickness like chicken soup. When I was little and had to stay home from school because of the chicken pox or whatever, my mom would take me to stay with my grandmother. My grandma would always make me arroz con leche. Its basically rice and milk, and while it might not sound appetizing to some, the memory of it makes my mouth water. Its amazing how food and the love its prepared with can stay with you forever. My adult self does not have a food to replace the arroz con leche of my childhood, but would love a soup recipe thats good for the body and the soul.

Do you have a food that you eat or prepare for others when they are sick?

2 Comments

  1. Lydia
    Posted March 5, 2008 at 11:58 am | Permalink

    1.

    By the way, whenever you want “arroz con leche” it will be my pleasure to make it for you. A sick food I made my kids was “crema de harina de arroz” which translates to “cream of rice” topped with cinnamon. Below is a all veggie soup recipe: easy and delicious

    6 cups fat free chicken broth
    1 small onion – chopped
    2 cloves of garlic – chopped
    2 Tbsp of lemon juice
    1 cup broccoli spears
    1 cup cauliflower
    1 cup carrots
    1 cup celery – chopped
    or 2 bags of frozen veggies
    Fresh parsley – chopped
    cooking spray or 2 tsp of olive oil

    In a soup pot or dutch oven pot coat with cooking spray or add olive oil, medium heat. Sautee onions and garlic, add all fresh or frozen veggies. Add broth and cover; let it cook for about 20- 30 minutes, add parsley and lemon and cook another 15 minutes or until veggies are a little mush or until you get the consistency that you like, add salt & pepper to taste. You can have this with some whole grain bread, pita pockets. You can also add chicken or turkey. This soup also can be frozen in portions for quick meal combos. Enjoy.

  2. Posted March 5, 2008 at 1:14 pm | Permalink

    Thanks for the recipe – seems easy and good for you. Can’t wait to try it.


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

