Spring Cleaning

Spring is on its way and its time to turn the clocks back and look around. A recent post on the blog Well about decluttering you kitchen is the perfect thing to think about as the weather gets warmer. I am a firm believer in what I call “purging.” Taking stock of your surroundings every so often and getting rid of things you don’t use, don’t like, or that are broken. I know it helps me keep an organized and functional home, but I feel it also helps my mind and spirit too. Being surrounded by things that serve no emotional or physical purpose can weigh heavily on a person. And I really feel like a cluttered, disorganized home represents a cluttered, disorganized, and propably unhappy life. I’m not a neat freak by any means, and the cans in my cupboard are not all lined up and alphabetized, but I do try to hold on to the things that help me live the life I want, and get rid of the things that don’t. Donating your unwanted things is also good come tax time.

What are some things can you get rid of and give to someone who would make greater use of?

One Comment

  1. Amy Thomas
    Posted March 9, 2008 at 7:55 pm | Permalink

    clothing!
    While I have found that it is great to keep your favorite things even when they go out of style (because the style may come around again – remember that flared leg jeans are the 60’s bellbottoms)it is good to go through your closet and give away the things you hardly ever wear. You can take a tax deduction and there are many people that could make good use of them. The Salvation Army and Goodwill are always accepting donations and if you have work clothes, business clothes there are many places that outfit the unemployed for interviews, etc.


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

