Iron and C: Match Made in Heaven

I am borderline anemic and take iron supplements everyday. I have been taking them for years after telling my doctor that I was tired all the time, no matter what I did during the day or how much sleep I got. After a blood test she told me to take the supplements and I noticed a difference right away. Even now, if for some reason I don’t take the pills for a few days, I can feel the difference. But I’ve recently read that vitamin C really helps the body absorb iron. I eat fruits and vegetables everyday, although I feel like I can never eat enough. Maybe I’m not getting all the iron that my body clearly needs cause I’m not taking in enough vitamin C. I’m going to make even more of an effort to get my vitamin C and here are some of the foods that’ll help:

papaya
bell pepper
broccoli
brussel sprouts
strawberry
orange
cantaloupe
kiwi
cauliflower
kale

Do you have any health issues that food helps you deal with?

One Comment

  1. Jonathan
    Posted March 22, 2008 at 4:12 pm | Permalink

    I get headaches if I go a couple of days without caffeine, usually a can of Coke.

    I also get headaches very quickly when its hot out. The start as a slow burn, then really kick in about an hour or two after I’m first exposed. Even coming back into air conditioning usually doesn’t help. Love to find a nutritional aid for that!


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

