Pollan’s Food Fight

I’m currently reading, and almost finished, Michael Pollan’s In Defense of Food. Everyone should read this book. It goes into detail about the food industry, and food politics in the US and how that all effects what we eat. At the end there is also, what he calls ‘eating algarithims’ – guidelines, not rules, about how we should eat. He talks a lot about the Western Diet, which is something I posted about not to long ago. But I called it eating like an American.

2 Comments

  1. Chris Taylor
    Posted April 26, 2008 at 12:07 pm | Permalink

    Hi, Rebecca,
    I interviewed Michael Pollan for my documentary on food (FOOD FIGHT). He is *the* expert on the politics of food in our country.
    If you get a chance, please check out my website-www.foodfightthedoc.com
    It has all the info on my film, which will be coming to Festivals in 2008. If you are based in NYC, you should know that I interviewed Dan Barber and Marion Nestle and shot at the Union Sq Farmer’s Market….thanks, Chris

  2. Posted April 27, 2008 at 1:28 pm | Permalink

    I just wanted to comment on Michael Pollan. If I could afford it, I would buy a copy for every person I know and love.
    How did we get so far away from food? Well, Mr. Pollan nails it.
    I always want to recommend “The Omnivore’s Dilemma” to people, but I think it must be a bit ‘weighty’ Unless one’s career is centered around food…healthy food.
    So, I was pleased when his new book was published.
    I am always happy when others give it props!!


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

